"Would you like to come up and see my etchings?"

As previously noted, I have started doing life drawing with a few colleagues once a week during our lunch break. I hadn’t drawn anything since school, so it was reassuring to learn that I hadn’t completely lost it.
A few things I’ve noticed:

1) I tend to draw more quickly than most of the others.
2) I tend to focus more on lines, whereas others go in for more shading.
3) I have an unfortunate tendency to squeeze all the features into a small portion of an overly large head, giving the subjects a certain potato-head quality.

It’s both satisfying and frustrating, as I can see where I’m going wrong, and struggle to put it right…

A couple more examples are up at my flickr account.

One Response

  1. Comments from:

    V-grrrl
    Posted on Apr. 19th, 2007 03:17 pm (local)
    Good for you for drawing and working on your skills. It takes courage to venture into new turf artistically and to silence the voices that say “Don’t bother, not your thing.” I took one studio art class in college and pencil drawing was my favorite unit. I thoroughly enjoyed looking at some of Flickr photos. Great stuff.

    Simon
    Posted on Apr. 19th, 2007 04:13 pm (local)
    Thanks. I was fairly safe in the knowledge that drawing was “my thing”, as it always had been from childhood. It’s just that it’d been so long, I had no idea whether I could pick it upa again, and so I was pleasantly surprised that I could produce something that looked like a human being, let alone actually resemble the person.

Your opinion is important to us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

