Whistling in the dark

We’ve just set up a site meter for our baby site, and I’m fascinated (and a little freaked out) about how much information it gives us. IP address, town, exactly which pages you looked at and for how many seconds (or even, in one case, whole minutes!), etc. Can other bloggers see me logging on to their sites half a dozen times a day? Can they hear me muttering “Come on you lazy bastard – post something! I’m bored!”?
Oh, and we decided against one of those counters that proudly shouts out to everyone “You’re the 12th person to visit my website!!!!!”

I really wanted to put one here too, but only certain LJ page layouts support counters, and, of course, they’re all the really ugly ones which would make people take one look and hit the “back” button before they’d had time to read anything. And it’d mean losing some of the other features, unless I’m willing to pay, which I’m not. So I’m just going to have to assume (and we all know what happens when we do that) that someone’s reading.

One thought on “Whistling in the dark

  1. simonlitton October 16, 2007 / 12:28 pm

    Comments from:

    Jane
    Posted on Dec. 28th, 2006 10:34 pm (local)
    Yeah, it’s creepy all right, but terribly interesting. the search terms that lead people to my site crack me up.

    anonymous
    Posted on Jan. 4th, 2007 04:44 am (local)
    Not sure about the LJ template but you don’t have to have the bugger show up on the page at all eg. with Statcounter.
    I tend not to look at all the stats, just overall numbers per day and referrer sites. The rest make me feel lightheaded….and a little dirty.

    Like

Your opinion is important to us

