Back to life

Brussels doesn’t seem to have entirely woken up to 2007 yet, with two consequences for me this morning. 
One – little or no traffic on the road to work this morning. Good. 
Two – café at work closed, forcing me to get my morning cappuccino from the machine. Bad. Machines cannot make cappuccino. They make white coffee with a thin layer of tiny bubbles which have all disappeared by the time I get back to my office.

Anyway, other than that, things are fine. Xmas at my parents was enjoyable (more details will be posted soon over at the family blog) – I received a creepy dvd and a bleepy cd, and vouchers to buy more of the same.

Yesterday the girls started back at the creche, but we only came back to work today, so yesterday we had a day to ourselves and drove up to Den Bosch (birthplace of, you’ve guessed it, Hieronymous Bosch) in the Netherlands. Upon arrival it became apparent that it was a lot colder than I’d anticipated, which lead to an emergency sweater purchase:

Following lunch at a great Dutch chain of cafés called Bagels and Beans (I had the special, filled with roast chicken, soy sauce, peanuts, and pak choi), I found the world’s greatest mug. 

You know – for those extra special drinks you want to be sure not to spill. Ok, so it was in a baby and toddler-type shop, but it holds a man-sized drink, and on the box it said “for ages 1 – 100”, and I happen to fit into that demographic, so there. 
You’re just envious.

Finally, I came back from the holidays to find that I’d made it onto The View From Your Window, which is nice.

One thought on “Back to life

  1. simonlitton October 16, 2007 / 12:31 pm

    Comments from:

    Paola
    Posted on Jan. 3rd, 2007 10:48 am (local)
    Cough cough.. anniversary.. cough cough

    Simon
    Posted on Jan. 3rd, 2007 10:52 am (local)
    Oh yes (rubs shin where wife has just kicked him), and today is the 8th aniversary of getting together with Paola. See? I can remember that one AND the wedding anniversary in June AND the birthday in March.
    Truly, I am the ideal husband.

    Jane
    Posted on Jan. 3rd, 2007 05:17 pm (local)
    When you get though massaging your shins and apologizing to your wife profusely for forgetting this anniversary, you must give me all the information you can about that mug so that I can procure one for myself.

    Simon
    Posted on Jan. 5th, 2007 10:02 am (local)
    I told a colleague that it had been so cold in Den Bosch that I had to buy a jumper. She replied “Did you have to buy THAT ONE?”

    Jane
    Posted on Jan. 5th, 2007 04:59 pm (local)
    Pfft. I think it’s a lovely sweater, er, jumper.

    Like

Your opinion is important to us

