Taking the piss

Recently I’ve been thinking about our bladders, and not only because we’re currently potty-training our eldest child.

A recent story about an attempted kidnapping contained the following bizarre detail: “Police said Capt Nowak drove 1,000 miles (1,600km) from her home in Houston to Orlando International Airport, wearing a nappy to avoid a toilet break.” Genius.

Think of all the areas of our lives where lack of adequate (or any) toilet facilities causes discomfort – especially if you’re of the female persuasion and have to queue for half an hour even if there are a dozen cubicles. I cannot have anything to drink while watching a film in the cinema because, even if I only take a few sips and the film is less than 2 hours, I will have to go to the toilet during the film. It’s a kind of mental block. No amount of leg-crossing helps. Any other situation (e. g. a long car drive) poses no problem, but if I drink during a film, I guarantee I’ll miss five minutes at some point while I rush to the nearest convenience.

This is why we need adult nappies. In this day and age we shouldn’t be at the mercy of our bladders.
A friend of mine proposed this a while ago as a solution to the problem of excessive beer consumption resulting in the evening being interrupted by numerous time-wasting trips to “the smallest room”. With a beer nappy, you wouldn’t even need to leave your seat.

In fact, adult nappies are already gaining in popularity in some countries. I say they should be readily available in supermarkets and convenience stores. You know you’d use one if you could…

P.S. Yes, I’ve changed layout again. The last one was a little cluttered and too blue.

One thought on “Taking the piss

  1. simonlitton October 16, 2007 / 12:40 pm

    Comments from:

    Jane
    Posted on Feb. 8th, 2007 09:49 pm (local)
    I like the new layout.

    Norm
    Posted on Feb. 14th, 2007 04:06 pm (local)
    Well if I suddenly need the toilet during my trip to see Hot Fuzz on Sunday night, I’ll just do it in the seat. If anything it’ll probably help sterilise the seats in the Dunfermline Odeon…

    Like

Your opinion is important to us

