Blind spot

Why can’t you see?

Well, not everyone can. Plenty of people, including friends and family members, suffer some form of sight defect, even if it’s only slight short-sightedness. And yet I find it very difficult to get my head around this most common of disabilities. Being able to see the world is, for me, so fundamental a part of existence that even a slight impairment would change it beyond all recognition. 
I mean, imagine not being able to see what you’re eating
What do you mean, not everything is in pin-sharp focus? Why can’t you read the sign on that building at the end of the road? It’;s right there in front of you – look! 
Sorry.

I once met someone who had no sense of smell – I can at least see some advantages to that. Especially on the Brussels metro at the height of summer during rush hour…

2 thoughts on “Blind spot

  1. Laura October 30, 2009 / 9:03 pm

    My boyfriend finds it very hard to understand my short sightedness. He gets expecially confused when I lose my glasses and require able-sighted assistance to find them.

    I also met someone with no sense of smell – something I saw (blurrily) no disadvantages of… She did point out that if I put bleach in a water glass she would drink it.

    Like

  2. simon October 31, 2009 / 1:13 pm

    My main problem with losing my sense of smell would be that it would affect my sense of taste too.

    Like

Your opinion is important to us

