Look into my eyes

If someone doesn’t look you in the eye when talking to you, how does that make you feel? Are you less likely to trust them? Do they look shifty? Do you think they’re nervous?
I only ask because…I’m one of those people. I have no problem looking you right in the eye when I’m listening to you, but when it’s my turn to talk, my gaze drifts off to one side. But don’t take it the wrong way – it means that I’m actually thinking about what I’m saying (unlike many people I prefer to think before I speak). I find it easier to marshall my thoughts when staring at a blank area, or out a window, rather than visually processing your expression and the way you’re reacting to me.
So don’t be offended – I’m not distracted or bored or impatient…I’m just thinking deep, thoughtful thoughts 😉

One thought on “Look into my eyes

  1. simonlitton October 16, 2007 / 2:30 pm

    Comments from:

    Jane
    Posted on Apr. 23rd, 2007 03:54 pm (local)
    Yes! Both my Dad and I tend to look away or focus on something else to properly address a question, and we have gotten so much crap about that over the years. We’ve been told we’re rude or inattentive or any number of other things that people (who don’t respond IMMEDIATELY) are called. Dang.

    Simon
    Posted on Apr. 23rd, 2007 05:15 pm (local)
    Strangely no-one else has ever mentioned it to me, but I’m acutely aware of it when I do it, and I always wonder how the other person is interpreting it.

    Like

Your opinion is important to us

