first memory

My earliest memory (as far as I can remember) is a family photo taken in a high street photographer’s studio in Exeter (Arthur Buxton, Cowick Street), where I grew up. I was about two years old at the time, according to my parents. It was a photo of myself and my brother and sister. I remember the room, on the first floor of the building, and a window looking out onto the street and shops below. I remember being in a pretty good mood (as is evident from the photo). That’s about it. 

first memory

I’m going to try and work forward from here and see what other very early memories I can dredge up. It’s shocking how much I’ve forgotten – presumably it’s all in there somewhere, but from the first five years of my existence I can only bring to mind a handful of events or situations that I remember clearly. Where’s all the rest gone? On the other hand, don’t expect me to take up “life logging” anytime soon.

Your opinion is important to us

