Perfect day

While driving in to work this morning, a line from It’s Not Up To You caught my attention: “How do I manage the perfect day?”

As the song title implies, I don’t think it’s something you can control. Someone once wrote that in order for a party to be a success, it has to become more than was planned for it. The same would apply to a perfect day for me – something surprising would have to happen; it would have to veer off in an unanticipated direction. I could spend some time planning exactly what I would do, where, and with whom, but if the day then proceeded exactly as planned, I’d be ever so slightly disappointed.Being able to do exactly what you want makes a nice change once in a while from the demands of work and family, and I like to take the occasional day off work just in order to sit at home on my own and know that I don’t have to do anything in particular. But these days are more like a sorbet than a delicious or nourishing dish.

So I don’t really know what I would do on my perfect day. One thing I’m sure of, however: there would definitely be banoffee pie at some point.
On the other hand you could spend the day watching the Beeb…

One thought on “Perfect day

  1. simonlitton October 16, 2007 / 2:43 pm

    Comments from:

    Tina
    Posted on Jun. 15th, 2007 08:16 pm (local)
    Hi there Simon, just wanted to say thanks for your visits to my blog, and also add my firm vote in favor of banoffee pie anytime, anywhere.

    Simon
    Posted on Jun. 16th, 2007 01:18 pm (local)
    Any friend of banoffee pie is a friend of mine…

    Like

Your opinion is important to us

