Manufactured Landscapes

I had planned my evening. My wife would stay home (her choice, I hasten to add) while I went out to the cinema alone (as is my wont) to see something she wouldn’t be interested in; something cheesy and crude. I had narrowed it down to two options, and was 99% decided to go for The Host as it had better reviews. I arrived early and walked around the area a little. I passed by a local arthouse cinema, and a selection of stills in the window caught my eye. I walked on, but after a few seconds turned back, lingered, and bought a ticket for the next screening.
I won’t go into a detailed review here, but it was a pretty amazing film, and you can find a lot more information about the subject here.
Almost as pleasurable as the film itself was the fact of having the freedom to change my mind at the last second. I don’t normally do this kind of thing. I plan things down to the last minutes, and rarely change my plans unless I have no alternative. It’s also nice to be able to take the decision myself. I’ve been in situations where a group of friends are trying to choose which film to go and see, and it’s such a pain getting everyone to agree that in the end the entire project is abandoned. Besides, I often want to see the kind of films which no-one else does, and I don’t want to waste my breath trying and failing to convince people that what would be perfect for a Friday night out is a feature-length documentary about an industrial landscape photographer…

One thought on “Manufactured Landscapes

  1. simonlitton October 16, 2007 / 3:30 pm

    Comments from:

    anonymous
    Posted on Jul. 5th, 2007 02:49 am (local)
    Hello
    Looks good! Very useful, good stuff. Good resources here. Thanks much!
    G’night

    Erik
    Posted on Sep. 7th, 2007 01:21 pm (local)
    I enjoyed Burtynsky’s TED talk (http://en.sevenload.com/videos/ROPEXJ5/Ed-Burtynsky-TED-2005) when I saw it about a month ago. Pretty fascinating stuff.

    Simon
    Posted on Sep. 7th, 2007 01:57 pm (local)
    I think some of that footage was in the movie too.
    One of the things I appreciated about the film was that it didn’t take sides. We see him at work, we explore the landscapes with him, but there’s no “Isn’t it terrible, what we’re doing to the planet?”-style commentary. We’re allowed to make up our own minds about what we’re seeing.

    Like

Your opinion is important to us

