The plot curdles

I’m getting tired of plots. Although I wouldn’t go as far as some suggest, I do find myself yearning for something (book or film) which is about more than just “what happens next”. 
Yes, I’m reading the latest You-Know-Who book and it’s a relentless and dispiriting “go there, collect that clue, which leads you over here to collect this object”-type of plot, with the occasional token attempt at “characterisation” (i.e. someone sulks a bit every now and then).

I’m also over twists. Especially the witless, “we lead you to believe it was going to turn out this way, so now we’re going to do the opposite just to ‘trick’ you” type. Also, those that insist on having a twist even though it makes no sense to anyone, even those who wrote it.
There are exceptions, where the ending reverses expectations in a way that actually deepens the story, but they’re few and far between. Then again, good stories are few and far between, I guess.

I’d like to read or see something that’s about something, that expresses something, that means something. 
Yes, I know that there’s plenty of this stuff out there if I can be bothered to find it, and I will, as soon as I’ve finished the last 150 pages of “seemingly random killing-off of secondary characters” and “convenient yet previously unmentioned magical objects”. As mentioned in my last post, I can’t abandon a book, even if I’m not enjoying it.