Anniversary

My blog is one year old today. Yay me.
Blogging itself is (debatably) ten years old.
Will I still be here in ten years? If I’m not, will my blog continue to exist on a server somewhere after I’ve gone? Not the kind of thing I usually think about. Like many bloggers, I’m writing for now, not for posterity.
The best thing about this blog, from my perspective – the people with whom I’ve made contact, and who’ve shown some interest in what I’ve scribbled, including the occasional anonymous well-wisher.
Thanks for reading.

One thought on “Anniversary

  1. simonlitton October 16, 2007 / 4:11 pm

    Comments from:

    Erik
    Posted on Sep. 11th, 2007 11:51 am (local)
    Today’s an anniversary for me too. I met my future wife 8 years ago today. I only know that because I was keeping a blog-like journal at the time. Too bad you can’t really go around saying, “Woohoo! It’s Sept 11! Let’s have a party!”
    I, too, wonder sometimes what’s going to happen to all this information that is being pumped daily in the blogosphere, most of which is trite tripe. No one in the future is going to care what I did last weekend, or that your daughter did the cutest thing yesterday.
    And yet it does serve a purpose in the present. It’s reinforcing to have other people show interest in your observations and what you find interesting. It keeps us closer together with friends and family that we would ordinarily not write paper letters or even email to. No one that cares about me can complain that they don’t know what’s going on in my life. Only time will tell if this blogging thing will continue and what will result from it.
    P.S. “Trite Tripe” would be a great blog title. So would “Griping and Typing”.

    Simon
    Posted on Sep. 11th, 2007 01:32 pm (local)
    When I started I was actually deliberately trying to write stuff that didn’t date, and that wasn’t about “what I did today”. In fact there’s a book on the subject called “No-one cares what you ate for lunch” (I’ll try to remember that when writing my upcoming entry on The Fat Duck).
    The September 11th thing reminds me (as does so much in life) of a story over at The Onion, about a guy who can’t interest anyone in going out for a drink to celebrate his birthday on…guess what date?
    I wonder how long it’ll be before September 11th can be seen as a normal day again? I think it’s already starting to fade, at least as far as Europeans are concerned.
    How many people could tell you the date Pearl Harbour was bombed, or when the bomb was dropped on Hiroshima?

    Erik
    Posted on Sep. 11th, 2007 08:59 pm (local)
    True. Already most Americans probably can’t tell you the YEAR of the Sept 11 attacks. The date, at least in the US, will remain in people’s heads for a while, I think. Mainly because the words “September 11th” and “9/11” were assigned to the attacks. People say stuff like, “After 9/11, everything changed.” The attack on Pearl Harbor was called “Pearl Harbor”, not “December 7th” or “12/7”. No one ever said, “We’re in this war because of December 7th.”
    Of course, a lot of yanks can’t even recall the MONTH of the 9/11 attacks…

    Simon
    Posted on Sep. 12th, 2007 09:12 am (local)
    Chucklesome video, although you can always count on a certain percentage of the population to, for example, not be able to find their own country on a map, tell you who wrote Beethoven’s 5th, etc.

    Jane
    Posted on Sep. 12th, 2007 01:06 am (local)
    First of all, congratulations! I’m delighted to count you among my international writing friends (or whatever we’re supposed to call ourselves).
    Second, while what happened on September 11 was terrible, horrible and ghastly, we do act in this country like it is the MOST TRAGIC thing to ever have happened in the world and that lack of perspective, coupled with a complete inability to retain even the most basic details about this and many other terrible, horrible and ghastly events – some of which are happening right now – makes me weep for my fellow Americans.

    Simon
    Posted on Sep. 12th, 2007 03:15 pm (local)
    In this context you may find the following appropriate/interesting, from Anxiety Culture (see link in blogroll):
    “Panic-mongers can apparently rely on human psychology. People base their fears more on the vividness of events than on the probability of them reoccurring, according to Michael Bond in New Scientist (19/8/06). And since the press often competes in terms of vividness of shocking coverage, our “probabilistic mapping of the world” seems likely to get distorted.
    In logic, the problem is known as the Misleading Vividness fallacy, in which the occurrence of a dramatic event is taken to mean that such events are more likely to occur (despite statistical evidence to the contrary).”

    Erik
    Posted on Sep. 12th, 2007 05:33 pm (local)
    Makes perfect sense. The best example I know of this is the airplane crash vs. car crash probability that everyone screws up.
    Fallacies never fail to fascinate me.

    Simon
    Posted on Sep. 13th, 2007 09:18 am (local)
    Whoa! Too much information!
    Oh, wait – you said “fallacies”.
    Sorry.

    Jaime
    Posted on Sep. 12th, 2007 01:30 pm (local)
    Congrats on the anniversary Simon. Yay you.
    No comment on the date except to say this: I went until about noon without even remembering that the day was “special” in any way. (I even wrote “9/11/07” on quite a few documents here at the office and nothing registered.) For that I was grateful.
    Keep on.

    Simon
    Posted on Sep. 12th, 2007 02:44 pm (local)
    Hey Jaime – thanks for stopping by.
    Ladies and gentlemen – Jaime Morrison of The Nonist fame (as if you didn’t already know).

    Tina
    Posted on Sep. 14th, 2007 01:37 am (local)
    Well! Happy first, my friend.

    Simon
    Posted on Sep. 14th, 2007 08:36 am (local)
    Thanks, Tina.

    Like

Your opinion is important to us

