I, geek

“It’s always bothered me that if you’re a geek about certain acceptable things it’s different – if you’re into wine you’re not a geek, you’re a connoisseur. If you’re into food you’re a gourmet, if you’re into cigars you’re an aficionado. When you think about cigars it has to be just as esoteric and unimportant as Star Trek, but the cigar guys get laid more”.
Richard Kraft

(For the record, I was never that much into Star Trek, but spent a couple of decades being a fairly major Star Wars geek. The prequels cooled my ardour somewhat, although I still cried a single, manly tear at the end of “Revenge of the Sith”.)
Besides, geeks can do stuff like this, so don’t piss them off.
Both found here.

One thought on “I, geek

  1. simonlitton October 16, 2007 / 4:21 pm

    Comments from:

    Tina
    Posted on Sep. 16th, 2007 06:53 pm (local)
    So true. I suppose, being a history geek, I fall somewhere in the middle of that spectrum. (Though geekery is always even less acceptable if you’re a girl, unless you find yourself a fellow geek, which I still have hopes of doing).
    (I cried a little at the end of Revenge of the Sith too, which was especially amazing considering how much I loathed all three of those movies, with the exception of Ewan McGregor’s UNCANNY Obi-Wan).

    V-grrrl
    Posted on Sep. 26th, 2007 04:17 pm (local)
    I just can’t get the movie Forty-Year-Old Virgin out of my head when I think of geek. But, hey, he was such a nice guy!
    I’m married to a geeky engineer–I get Geek Appeal!

    Like

Your opinion is important to us

