I remember

I remember a haircut in Norwich.

I remember a party in Gypsy Hill.

I remember a flight to Milan.

I remember a boat trip, a sunset at Portofino, and a kiss at Boccadasse, nine years ago today.

I remember the bridges on Venice, a gondola ride, and the early morning train to the airport, where tears were shed.

I remember a bedsit in Dublin, an apartment in Genoa, and two apartments and a house in Brussels.

I remember kneeling on a rock in Sardinia, waiting for an answer.

I remember your “yes”.

I remember your “si” on a hot afternoon the following June, surrounded by family and friends.

I remember the births of our two daughters, so different from each other.

I remember the four of us in an embrace, cheek to cheek to cheek to cheek, laughing, only yesterday.

I remember, and I’m grateful, and hopeful, and happy.

5 thoughts on “I remember

  1. V-Grrrl January 3, 2008 / 10:56 am

    Allow me to write the ending: “And they all lived happily ever after.”

    This is lovely and inspiring. Good to read about warm thoughts on a cold January morning.

    Like

  2. Peter January 3, 2008 / 5:11 pm

    You’re a lucky man, Simon – I could almost feel your happiness.

    As far as I know your wife is Italian, a nation that represents sunshine, warmth and being surrounded by a close-nit family.

    The next time you’re in Italy, do send me a card 😉

    Like

  3. Di January 26, 2008 / 4:38 pm

    I finally popped over to read you some and found myself reading and reading.

    Loved this!

    Like

Your opinion is important to us

