I go in America!

Tickets have been booked. Guidebooks have been purchased and are being scrutinized, highlighter pen in hand. We’re going to New York for a weekend in March, to buy a camera.

Yes, I realise it’s rather a long way to go for a single consumer electronics purchase, but take a moment to consider Señor Rasmussen’s eloquent argument. So, basically, I buy a camera, and get a weekend in New York for free. Who could say no?

This will be my first time in the ex-colonies, unless you count two hours in an LA airport waiting for a connecting flight to Tahiti for our honeymoon.  Apart from the camera, we plan to wander a bit, shop a bit, eat a lot (I’m keen to try the local specialities like bagels and all that meaty deli goodness, and we’re thinking of taking one of those foodie walking tours) and maybe climb the Empire State Building for the view. We probably won’t have time for museums or galleries, unfortunately. Any other suggestions? Best suggestion wins an authentic New York souvenir. Choose between a “I heart NY” t-shirt, two sizes too small, or a tiny plastic Statue of Liberty with the torch broken off.

14 thoughts on “I go in America!

  1. rasman1978 January 17, 2008 / 12:21 pm

    I wrote a four part blog report about my weekend trip to the Big Apple for my -1 anniversary that you might find interesting. The Statue of Liberty Ferry, seeing “Ground Zero”, and wandering Fifth Ave. were the highlights of my trip.

    Be sure to say something like, “I’m just dying to see New York! I could just explode!” as you’re boarding the plane. The flight attendants like to see tourist enthusiasm.

    Like

  2. simonlitton January 17, 2008 / 12:33 pm

    Part of your entry reminded me – I need some advice on the tipping thing. Who do I tip, and how much? The bellboy at the hotel, waiters (15% of the bill, right?), taxi drivers…anyone else?

    Like

  3. rasman1978 January 17, 2008 / 12:40 pm

    Yeah, me, for reminding you. 🙂

    Yes, 15-20%. Plus, sales tax isn’t included in any of the prices, so what you see on the menu is NOT what it really costs. Ain’t America great?

    Like

  4. simonlitton January 17, 2008 / 12:48 pm

    God. This trip may actually end up COSTING ME MONEY…

    Like

  5. rasman1978 January 17, 2008 / 1:04 pm

    Yeah, but sales tax is in the single digits. Not like Euro VATs.

    One more thing. I abhor queuing with a passion, but going to the top of the Empire State Building is absolutely worth the hour+ wait if you’ve got any kind of visibility at all. Bring binoculars if you got ’em.

    Like

  6. tinafrench January 17, 2008 / 6:44 pm

    If you look at the April 2007 archives of my blog you can glance back over my trip to Manhattan and see what I thought was fun. I vaguely remember loving every second of the trip. Except maybe the visit to Liberty Island. I’d skip that.

    Like

  7. rasman1978 January 17, 2008 / 7:00 pm

    Yeah, the actual Liberty Island sucks (I went there once before). But I enjoyed the ferry ride. I never got off the boat at either Liberty or Ellis Island the last time I visited.

    Like

  8. jagosaurus January 18, 2008 / 2:27 am

    And here I live rock-throwing distance from NYC and have never been there.

    *shame*

    Like

  9. simonlitton January 18, 2008 / 10:07 am

    *note to self: throw a rock in Jane’s direction when in New York*

    Like

  10. rasman1978 January 18, 2008 / 10:17 am

    Note to FBI search bot: Simon Litton plans to launch a missile towards Washington, D.C.

    (see previous comment)

    Like

  11. jagosaurus January 19, 2008 / 2:43 am

    *note to self: throw rock in direction of NYC when Simon and family are there*

    Like

  12. V-Grrrl January 20, 2008 / 7:42 pm

    My Belgian cousins went to NYC for Christmas and had a wonderful time. I was so relieved. If they’d been mistreated, I would have felt personally responsible!

    When I first moved to Belgium and was pining for a bagel, one of my readers had two dozen shipped overnight (International FedEx) from NY. How cool was that?

    Some of the most “authentic” food in NY is found in delis and from street vendors. My cousins marveled over the 24/7 environment and the fact that people were eating breakfast ON THE SUBWAYS. Yeah, Americans eat everywhere but at a table. : )

    Like

  13. Melissa January 5, 2010 / 11:02 pm

    I was in NYC on Halloween weekend trying out my Canon G11 (confession: I’m really a Nikon shooter, but if you read my blog post on the NYC trip you’ll understand why I took the G11). You should see Rockefeller Center for its touristy sights, and maybe the High Line if it isn’t freezing cold. Have a great time – the city is so full of great things to see and shoot!

    Like

Your opinion is important to us

