In the flesh

On Saturday night I met, for the first time, some people who I’d only previously known through their blogs. A stray comment on V-grrrl’s blog led to an invitation to her almost-birthday party in Antwerp, hosted by her friend, the lovely Di, and also attended by the charming Peter.

I am happy to report that everyone was just as wonderful, (if not more so) than their online presences had lead me to expect. In fact, I have a theory that bloggers as a rule tend to be nicer, more intelligent, more attractive, younger-looking and more sweetly-fragranced than your typical non-blogger. Although, to be fair, non-bloggers in attendance were fascinating too. For example, the birthday girl’s husband enthralled me with tales of his travels, and the work he does here in Belgium (I can’t talk about it for security reasons, but let’s just say that he protects us all. Yes, he’s a kind of superhero…). Plus there was enchanting live music from Ivan, complete with carefully choreographed audience participation (“You sing ‘Pam, parapam-pam’…., Ok, now you stop singing!”).

Thanks again to all involved – you should go read their more comprehensive accounts on their own blogs.

7 thoughts on “In the flesh

  1. rasman1978 January 28, 2008 / 12:08 pm

    You’re probably right. I suspect that bloggers, like expats, are generally more introspective, know themselves better, and are therefore more interesting on average than the rest of the folks.

    I’ve recently met someone on my blogroll and can only confirm your findings.

    Like

  2. simonlitton January 28, 2008 / 12:17 pm

    Well, I was kind of joking. I’m sure there are plenty of arrogant, stupid expat bloggers around. Maybe I’ve just been lucky.
    But I stand by the “sweetly-fragranced” part.

    Like

  3. rasman1978 January 28, 2008 / 12:41 pm

    It’s clear that we’ve never met. 🙂

    Like

  4. Di January 28, 2008 / 1:38 pm

    I came in to comment with something to say, I’m sure of it but ended up laughing over the exchange I found here.

    Will email with the camera info later today … I hope.

    Like

  5. Peter January 28, 2008 / 2:37 pm

    Simon,

    thank you for calling me charming [someone just yelled at me: “you stupid **” –
    so you can imagine you managed to put a smile back on my face on this gray Belgian Monday].

    But when I read that I belonged to a group of people who were considered “nicer, more intelligent, more attractive, younger-looking and more sweetly-fragranced” – ooooh,
    I almost went into melt-down mode!

    However, the guests over at Di’s actually were nicer, more intelligent, more attractive, younger-looking and more sweetly-fragranced, and that includes you and your charming wife.

    It was a pleasure meeting you.

    Like

  6. V-Grrrl February 3, 2008 / 5:24 pm

    Ah, I’m late to the comment party but at least I was on time at Di’s. : )

    I was so pleased you and Paola were willing to get a sitter and make the trek to Antwerp to join the conversation. Mr. V-Grrrl will be very happy to be described as a superhero. Being an engineer among a group of creative types has its upside. We all know how to embellish our stories. : )

    There may be one more party before I leave, and with a bit of luck, I’ll get to enjoy yours and Paola’s company again.

    Like

Your opinion is important to us

