Character sketch

From a book I’m currently reading:

“Upon first meeting him, shallow men tended to dismiss him out of hand, and he took great pleasure in allowing them to do so – for he was, in fact, a man of great depth, intensely conscious of his own superiority, and his veiled demeanour was like a thousand-foot drop concealed by two inches of snow […] He knew well that the best way to see and hear all that went on around him was to appear blind and deaf”.

This kind of perceptiveness, economy and precision is one of the things I appreciate most in a writer.

9 thoughts on “Character sketch

  1. Jagosaurus January 31, 2008 / 5:40 pm

    “…and his veiled demeanour was like a thousand-foot drop concealed by two inches of snow…”

    Sweet.

    Like

  2. tinafrench January 31, 2008 / 6:36 pm

    It actually took me a moment to recognize it as mine.

    Like

  3. V-Grrrl February 3, 2008 / 5:16 pm

    As I like to say, “I’m shallow but at least I’m self aware.”

    It’s a line I stole from a friend who was explaining to me why he would vote for the person who gave him the best tax cut and didn’t care about anything else.

    Very funny line.

    Like

  4. simonlitton February 4, 2008 / 9:51 am

    I venture to suggest that a certain Monsieur Dumas may take some of the credit…

    Like

  5. tinafrench February 4, 2008 / 4:23 pm

    It actually occurred to me that you were probably talking about him about half a second after I posted my previous comments. Oops.

    Like

  6. Kerry February 12, 2008 / 5:47 pm

    conscious of his own superiority? Tosser…. or did I miss something incredibly deep. And if I did should I care? Say it loud I’m shallow and proud and also a bit squiffy after lunch with dougie boy…..

    Like

  7. simonlitton February 12, 2008 / 5:49 pm

    No, Kerry, you needn’t care.
    And why do you insist on lunching with Dougie – when will you learn?

    Like

Your opinion is important to us

