Intercultural dialogue

It’s been a while since I read a book that made me laugh out loud. The author is a Canadian, hitch-hiking from one end of Japan to the other.

“An old man approached me. He was tiny and tidy and as wrinkled as my thumb after a bath. He seemed to be shrinking back into himself even as we spoke.

“American’, he said. It wasn’t a question.

‘No’

‘Where in America? Boston?’

I sighed. ‘I’m not American’.

‘New York? Chicago? San Fransisco? Detroit?’ He was evidently going to list every city in the United States, so I grabbed the next one that went by and adopted it as my new home.

‘So’, he said, ‘is it cold in Baltimore?’

‘Very cold.’

‘In Japan’, he said, ‘we have four seasons.’

‘Congratulations.’

‘Thank you. Are you married?’

‘No.’

‘Can you eat Japanese food?’

This was Conversation by Non Sequitur, and I was thoroughly familiar with it by now. The trick was to answer with equally arbitrary statements, until you sound like a couple of spies conversing in code.

‘Yes, I can eat Japanese food. Baltimore is very big.’

‘How long will you stay in Japan?’

”Until tomorrow, forever. It is very cold in Baltimore.’

He shook my hand. We smiled warmly at each other, clearly this was an International Moment.”

5 thoughts on “Intercultural dialogue

  1. jeques February 12, 2008 / 3:49 pm

    nice post. reminds me of my recent travel home to the philippines then back here in chicago, and the conversations i had with strangers of different nationalities.

    international moment. I like how you gave it a name.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    Like

  2. simonlitton February 12, 2008 / 3:55 pm

    Thanks, Jeques, although it’s the book’s author, Will Ferguson, who provided that name, not me (much as I’d love to take credit for it…)

    Like

  3. jeques February 13, 2008 / 12:07 am

    opps! I missed that part – i thought ’tis your original. but still, thank you Simon, for pointing me to that idea by sharing us excerpts from the book. its interesting.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    Like

  4. jane February 13, 2008 / 4:22 am

    Hahahahahaha! That’s terrific.

    Like

  5. birdandpickle February 14, 2008 / 3:34 am

    I’ll put this one on my library list — I can tell I’d like the book. I really like the thumb/bath reference.

    Like

Your opinion is important to us

