Bookish

As some of you may know, I joined goodreads recently. In the past I’d written a couple of reviews on Amazon, but this seemed like a good way to keep them all in one place, and also a way of actually encouraging me to write something about what I’d read, even if only a few lines of gut reaction rather than a more considered evaluation (although I hope to do some of those too, depending on the book). Now that my new work routine leaves me a smidgen more time for reading, I hope to be able to keep it fairly regularly updated, (although, as previously noted, I’m not that fast a reader, so don’t expect more than one or two reviews per month).

My reviews can be found here, or in the blogroll at right.

6 thoughts on “Bookish

  1. rasman1978 February 27, 2008 / 12:55 pm

    That’s a pretty clever idea for a website. I like sites that solve exactly one aspect of social networking rather than try (and fail) to do it all.

    Like

  2. Di February 27, 2008 / 3:27 pm

    I signed up too but presently, I’m simply working back through the books I’ve read and loved. Is that cheating … and my reviews are minimal eek!

    Like

  3. simonlitton February 27, 2008 / 3:42 pm

    Di: I don’t think it’s cheating, no, but it’s something I can’t be bothered to do at the moment. I’ve started from this year, and want to write the reviews immediately after finishing the books, so that they’re still fresh in my mind. And I definitely want to write something for each book, rather than just give it a star rating.

    Like

  4. Pierce February 27, 2008 / 5:42 pm

    I’m a big fan of this site. Not so much because of its social aspects, but because it makes me write a little about every book I read. Just a little reminder of what I thought at the time.

    I’m trying not to enter in old ones, just update with what I’m reading, as I read it.

    Like

  5. jeques February 28, 2008 / 1:21 pm

    Simon,

    I wish my job would also give me time to read, but it doesn’t. I’m reading Love in the time of cholera and it’s 2 months now, but I haven’t finished reading it, God! I used to devour 2 books in a week or even more when I was still in the Philippines where life is slower . It’s funny, now that my job made me afford to buy books, its also taking my reading time. So I have piles of unread books I bought thinking that I still have the time like when I was in the Philippines, but its not just the same.

    Reading is one thing I really love, so I will not stop buying books because I’m thinking that when I retire I would have all the time. Meantime, I have to be contented with the little time I have for reading.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    Like

  6. simonlitton February 28, 2008 / 3:00 pm

    Jeques: I still haven’t got out of the habit of buying books faster than I can read them, which means that I’m constantly looking for more shelf space (although I’m also trying to get rid of books I don’t need or want anymore…)

    Like

Your opinion is important to us

