Farewell celebrations

This weekend I finished my DVD box set of the last season of Six Feet Under. The final montage (see clip below) was an interesting attempt to express the idea that knowing you’re going to die shouldn’t stop you living (although some of the old age make-up was pretty cheesy).

It’s been a while since I imagined my own funeral. Come on, don’t tell me you’ve never done that. When I was an angsty teenager I had recurring fantasies about hordes of people standing around my casket, weeping and wailing, cursing themselves for not having appreciated me more/recognised my genius/slept with me. “Who’s sorry now, eh? Eh?”

Nowadays, the self-pity having ebbed a little, if I think about that (hopefully distant) day, I can’t really say I have any strong ideas about what I would want it to be like, for the simple reason that funerals are for the living, not the dead. I can’t dictate how (if) people will remember me, and I won’t be there to see or hear it, so I don’t see much point in choosing a poem to be read or a piece of music (sombre? joyous and uplifting?) to be played, or even a location for my remains. That’s best decided by those I leave behind. They know me and I trust them to choose something appropriate.

5 thoughts on “Farewell celebrations

  1. rasman1978 June 24, 2008 / 8:13 am

    You sure that wasn’t a Toyota commercial?

    Seriously, though, I love that “enjoy life despite its fleetingness” message.

    Like

  2. paola June 24, 2008 / 9:02 am

    Funny, Erik, I was thinking the same thing as I was watching it!

    Like

  3. V-Grrrl June 26, 2008 / 1:58 am

    I told my family I wanted to be cremated.

    My daughter said, “But where will we sprinkle you?”

    I said, “Generally, you pick a loved one’s favorite place.”

    She said, “Hah! That would be in the arts and crafts store!”

    So imagine my “funeral” might include an announcement on the public address system of the store, “We need a cleanup on Aisle 5.”

    : )

    Like

  4. birdandpickle July 13, 2008 / 6:29 pm

    Oh man, hook, line & sinker for me on that ending. I wept when I saw it, probably even sobbed. You’re right, some of the makeup is a bit cheesy and unconvincing, but I thought it was a perfect ending. It’s so comforting to me, really, that we’re all going to die.

    My oldest brother keeps a list of the songs I want played at my funeral. He’s the only one who will humor me on this.

    And V-Grrrl, that is hilarious.

    Like

  5. Norm July 14, 2008 / 8:40 am

    Wotcher Simonski

    See my latest blog on this particular subject…

    N

    Like

Your opinion is important to us

