Focaccia foto

Ok, here I am, fashionably late to the party with my photos, but as I explained earlier, I had a valid excuse, honest.

Firstly, I thought I’d show you an alternative for those of you who can’t pop over to the bel paese whenever you get a craving. Belgian supermarkets sell this pre-prepared dough in the fridge section. You just roll it out, add a little oil and pop it into the oven. The results are surprisingly edible, and it’s pretty much the best focaccia I’ve had outside of Italy.

 

But for the last two weeks I was in Italy, so I popped along to the best forno in town, handily located a few hundred meters from our apartment in the old town area of Genoa.

 

Feast your eyes: delicious, fresh, gone in thirty seconds.

 

Later, once I’d acquired the other ingredients, I made the aforementioned focaccina. A simple dish requiring only three circular ingredients…

 

…and a splash of olive oil. Oil and tomatoes were made/grown by my father-in-law. Note the firm meaty flesh of the tomato. Slightly better than the tomatoes we’re used to in northern Europe, which are like red balloons full of water.

 

The money shot. Yes, I am completely topless in this photo: I’d just got back from a day at the beach and temperatures were around 34°C.

See you all next year!