Pictures at an exhibition

On Friday night we drove up to Borgerhout, just outside Antwerp, for the opening night of an art exhibition. Much as I’d love you all to believe that we’re the kind of culture vultures who attend gallery openings all the time, we had another reason for attending this one. Our friend Di was one of the featured artists, and a photo she’d taken of our younger daughter was one of the 15 pieces she’d chosen to display. 

 

There was a variety of interesting work on show, but as the local dignitaries gave their speeches and everyone sipped their wine I found myself more interested in the faces around me than the canvases and sculptures.

 


 
Yes, I know this one’s motion-blurred, but I like it anyway.

5 thoughts on “Pictures at an exhibition

  1. Di September 8, 2008 / 8:54 am

    Thank you for doing this. It was so strange for me not to have my camera there, although I was so ummm stressed and kind of giddy that I’m not sure I would have been any good with it anyway 🙂

    Nice work!

    Like

  2. Erik R. September 8, 2008 / 9:12 am

    Very nice. Congrats to Di and to Giulia on her anonymous fame.

    Like

  3. Peter September 8, 2008 / 10:25 am

    Great work Simon.

    Although I also attended
    I can clearly see the difference between your DSLR shots
    and my small Canon shots who didn’t quite managed to cut it
    above ISO 800 (kind of common with all compacts, even the best).

    You also managed to capture the spirit of it all.

    I’m impressed.

    Like

  4. simonlitton September 8, 2008 / 11:35 am

    Thanks Peter. I actually took advantage of the long speeches that night to experiment with my manual settings. On full auto the camera wanted me to hold it steady for a couple of seconds to get the right exposure, so I played with shutter priority mode until I found the right speed which kept the subjects sharp (often at the far end of the zoom) while still allowing enough light in to be able to see something through the gloom.

    Like

  5. simonlitton September 9, 2008 / 7:33 am

    It’s just occurred to me that these pictures might give the misleading impression that everyone stood around in silent contemplation all evening. In fact after the speeches were over I put my camera down and there was much mingling, nibbling of hor d’oeuvres and slurping of wine in a much more festive atmosphere than you see here.
    Honest, it was FUN.

    Like

Your opinion is important to us

