A year of goodreads

I’ve been keeping track of my reading material via goodreads for a whole year now. I think it’s good to make myself write something about everything I read for all sorts of reasons; to help me remember books, to help me clarify in my own mind what I think about them, and to see how, if at all, my reading habits change.

One change I’ve noticed recently is an increasing interest in non-fiction, mostly of the travel/culture/sociological type, and I’m sure this will continue in the future as I realise that the real world is full of just as many fascinating and involving people and stories as any storyteller’s imagination. I also want to go back to reading science fiction. Growing up I read almost nothing but SF, but for the last ten years or so I’d say that it’s taken up probably less than a third of my reading time as I leaned more toward what they call “contemporary” or “literary” fiction, and I’d like to go back and read some of the classics I never got around to. Speaking of classics, there are a few monuments of world literature sitting on my shelf which I really must tackle, rather than getting distracted by the kind of book that wins a clutch of awards one year and is forgotten the next. I think next year I’m going to dive into Tolstoy.

Finally, also in terms of varying genres, for some reason a while ago I stopped reading short stories, which is silly because I love them. Ditto poetry. Must do better. There – three literary New Year’s resolutions.

As far as this year is concerned, here are the five books I most enjoyed in 2008:

Hokkaido Highway Blues

Time Regained

The Summer Book

The Rings Of Saturn

Russian Journal