The Simple Life

From a book I’ve just read. The author spent a lot of time in the main square in Marrakesh, listening to the beggars’ repetitive chanting:

“Back from Morocco, I once sat down with eyes closed and legs crossed in a corner of my room and tried to say “Allah! Allah! Allah!” over and over again for half an hour at the right speed and volume. I tried to imagine myself going on saying it for a whole day and a large part of the night; taking a short sleep and then beginning again; doing the same thing for days and weeks, months and years; growing old and older and living like that, and clinging tenaciously to that life; flying into a fury if something disturbed me in that life; wanting nothing else, sticking to it utterly.

I understood the seduction there is in a life that reduces everything to the simplest kind of repetition.”

5 thoughts on “The Simple Life

  1. Erik R. January 6, 2009 / 11:47 am

    Three thoughts:

    1) We all like a little routine, but that’s a serious extreme!

    2) If I didn’t know what that chant meant, I might think those people were meditating Buddhists.

    3) I can just see God (as drawn in the Simpsons, in my mind) parting the clouds and screaming, “WHAT!?!!?” like a mother whose kid has just said, “Mommy, look!” four thousand times. 🙂

    Like

  2. simonlitton January 6, 2009 / 1:14 pm

    Re: number 3 – that’ll be you in a few years’ time.

    Like

  3. Helen D January 8, 2009 / 3:52 pm

    I like comment no.3 🙂

    Eagerly awaiting the travel & food review from Morocco – I checked the blog in anticipation so I hope you found some good places to eat! You guys can’t go anywhere now without your loyal readers expecting a full breakdown 😉

    Like

  4. simonlitton January 8, 2009 / 3:59 pm

    Helen – full breakdown will be up at the family blog in a few days’ time, and separate pieces on food and random observations will go up here. All good things to those who wait…

    Like

  5. J January 8, 2009 / 4:49 pm

    That is indeed a striking excerpt. There is a seductive quality to giving yourself up to such a life, to not having expectations or hopes or goals.

    At the same time, it makes me kind of sick to think of spending my whole life that way.

    Like

Your opinion is important to us

