Sprung

Yes, I’ve changed my blog design/layout-thingy. I also plan to get my hair cut soon. It’s that time of year. Brussels is going through something of a…well, not a heatwave as such – more of a “springwave”.  I wasn’t quite ready for it – in fact I was more than a little resentful, and was hoping that when I go on holiday in early April it would still be cold and miserable here, so that I could savour the contrast more. It’s not enough that I enjoy my holiday, you see – others have to envy me the good weather I’m enjoying while they’re battling their way through wind-blown drizzle back home.

I also deleted most of the blogroll – please don’t take it personally, but it was getting unwieldy and, I think, unnecessary. Most of the bloggers I like leave comments here every now and then, so you can follow them back to their own sites that way.

14 thoughts on “Sprung

  1. paola March 18, 2009 / 5:30 pm

    I like it!

    Like

  2. Erik R. March 18, 2009 / 6:35 pm

    Green text on green background? Yikes.

    Paola, your gravatar is fantastic! It would get along well with mine.

    Like

      • Erik R. March 19, 2009 / 8:51 pm

        I was not using “avatar” as a euphemism, no.

        Actually both avatars look angry so maybe “get along well” isn’t the right phrase.

        Also: comment threading?? AWESOME!

        Like

  3. jane March 18, 2009 / 8:38 pm

    I think this is lovely. Very soothing.

    Paola, your avatar is cracking me up.

    Like

  4. Di March 18, 2009 / 8:54 pm

    I really like the new layout, and I’m sure I’ll be envious about your holiday although I’m hopeful about Istanbul putting on something nice for me while I’m there round the same time.

    Like

  5. Erik R. March 18, 2009 / 11:57 pm

    Darn, the similarity of Di’s gravatar leads me to believe that these critters are auto-generated. Bravo to the artist.

    Still, though, Paola really should get an avatar from one of the pictures her daughters have drawn of her.

    Like

    • simonlitton March 19, 2009 / 10:22 am

      Yep, Worpress gives me the choice of a range of automatically-generated avatars for the gravatarless, and I chose Monsters. But the kids’ drawing idea is a good one too…

      Like

      • Laura November 4, 2009 / 8:12 pm

        Well, I was wondering why I was a purple hair (or extra arms??) pulling monster with a circle of teeth.

        I mean, it’s what I look like in real life… but how were you to know that?

        Like

  6. Di March 19, 2009 / 9:16 pm

    Monsters … but we’re not monsters.

    Like

    • J March 20, 2009 / 3:51 am

      Speak for yourself Di, I consider myself a monster. And a grumpy one at that, when some people go on wonderful vacations, and I stay home. But I do live in Sunny California, so the weather is pretty fabulous right now. Hard to maintain the grumpy monster thing when it’s 72 and sunny.

      Love the look, btw.

      Like

      • Di March 20, 2009 / 7:57 am

        I remember sunnny California, J and meanwhile, we are trying to survive the country where there was 33 hours of sunshine in February, a fact I am obsessing about as it is surely life in a cave. We have to flee sometimes.

        Hmmm, these threads are like Simon say, ‘Chat amongst yourselves.

        Like

  7. Karen MEG March 22, 2009 / 8:18 pm

    Simon, it looks great! Very spring like, very clean…yes, a reminder that I need to do some too. Thanks ;).

    Like

Your opinion is important to us

