Musical Alphabet: C

Growing up it never occurred to me that I might inherit any of my parents’ taste in music. While they were chilling out to a mixture of mostly easy listening-style country and western, I was exploring the outer reaches of electronica. But a few years back I started to admit that I actually quite liked some of the oldies’ stuff. In fact today I can stand up and say, without embarassment, “My name is Simon Litton and I love The Carpenters!”

Bonus video: I’ve never seen a Chris Farley movie, and I hope I never do, but I do remember seeing this excerpt on TV once, which made me laugh and which seems apt in this context:

2 thoughts on “Musical Alphabet: C

  1. J May 19, 2009 / 3:42 am

    I’m not a huge fan, but boy, Karen had some pipes, didn’t she? There was a time when “Top of the World” was my favorite song ever.

    Like

  2. Peter May 21, 2009 / 1:31 pm

    Several of their songs will remain classic forever.

    Although I have to note that a distant family member of mine was gently guided away from her house after she had drifted off on a diet of Carpenter songs and Valium 🙂

    Like

Your opinion is important to us

