Musical Alphabet: T

 I got into They Might Be Giants just after they broke into the British pop charts with Birdhouse In Your Soul in the late ’80s, and devoured their first six albums and B-sides compilation. Each album contains a cornucopia of oddity, intelligence and irresistible melodies.

The one below is from the album John Henry. How many pop songs do you know that make a reference to Plato’s cave allegory a key part of their narrative?

And because I couldn’t resist, here’s another one. Sensurround was never released on any official album but featured on the soundtrack of the first Power Rangers movie (heard briefly on a car radio). The lyrics describe how an unborn child is affected by the vibrations from a Sensurround movie his mother sees while pregnant…

4 thoughts on “Musical Alphabet: T

  1. grandchief September 14, 2009 / 8:17 am

    its cool…

    Like

  2. Erik R. September 14, 2009 / 9:48 am

    It took you until T to choose a band that I own an album from. Nice work.

    “Cornucopia of oddity, intelligence and irresistible melodies” might be the best description of them I’ve ever heard.

    Thinking about unborn children lately?

    Like

  3. Karen MEG (Pomtini) September 18, 2009 / 1:14 pm

    Great series, Simon. This is the second reference to They might be Giants that I’ve heard in as many days… I’d totally forgot about them! I think I heard them discussed on Sirius radio, and it was in reference to their children’s music as well. As a sly way to get your children to listen to your music :).

    Like

  4. J September 22, 2009 / 5:27 am

    Birdhouse in Your Soul is my very favorite TMBG song. I remember the first time I heard it…I was in the car, on the way to school (college), and I stopped at the record store right after class and bought the album. LOVE it.

    Like

Your opinion is important to us

