Musical Alphabet: V

I own copies of Suzanne Vega’s first four albums, and all of them contain favourites; songs which are delicate yet tough, romantic, tragic, sad, funny, warm and cold, lush and spare. She once described her voice as being like a pencil, “it’s not very fancy, but it gets the job done”.

This one’s from her first, eponymous album, and I think it shows off most of her strengths. In fact for me it’s probably the definitive Suzanne Vega song. 

One thought on “Musical Alphabet: V

  1. J September 28, 2009 / 9:27 pm

    I really like Suzanne Vega, too! I used her as my ‘S’ artist, for Suzanne. Very nice song.

    Like

Your opinion is important to us

