Sandwich Party 4: Back to Basics

First, an apology. Time constraints (we have five houseguests this weekend; one from Genoa and four from Tokyo) + minimal food preparation talent + lack of inspiration = probably my feeblest Sandwich Party entry to date. But I couldn’t bear to be left out, so here it is.

Having contributed Belgian and Italian recipes in previous years, I wanted to return to my homeland. Wikipedia claims that cheese sandwiches are quintessentially British (I can hear the howls of protest and derision from non-British readers even now), so who am I to contest the collective wisdom of the internet? A cheese sandwich it will be. Or rather, two cheese sandwiches. Two simple but honest, blokey, British cheese sandwiches.

First, the bread. This year I made my own. Well, our bread-making machine did.

(This blogpost is brought to you in association with Moulinex).

Next, the ingredients. Cheddar and Branston’s Pickle from an expat-oriented British/Scandinavian food shop near my office. I’m not sure how widely Branston’s is available abroad, so for the benefit of those of you unfortunate enough not to have been born a subject of Her Majesty Elizabeth II, the ingredients apparently include “swede, carrots, onions, cauliflower and gherkins pickled in a sauce made from vinegar, tomato, apple and dates with spices such as mustard, coriander, garlic, cinnamon, pepper, cloves, nutmeg and cayenne pepper with sugar”. It’s brown and lumpy and very tangy. I think you either love it or hate it, like Marmite. I only got into it recently.

On the other side I wanted coleslaw, but for some reason coleslaw is quite hard to find in Belgium. The supermarket fridges are full of various types of creamy salad dressings, but most of them contain ham or chicken or shrimp or crab or whatever. In the end I had to go for this “salade printanière“, which contains chunks of ham but was the closest thing they had.

All ingredients should be quite thick and chunky, for maximum manly mouthfeel.

Don’t forget to check out the other contributions at the Sandwich Party flickr pool.

Update: I managed to procure some proper coleslaw (God bless Marks and Spencer) during a trip to London last week. Behold the creamy, cabbagey goodness: