Frequency

Flicking back through my 2010 diary I noticed something alarming. In the first 9 months of this year I’ve only been to the cinema 10 times (yes, I note cinema trips in my diary. Shut up). Now once a month might not seem so bad an average, in fact it’s more than most people manage, but I can remember a time when I saw nine films per month (not counting TV and DVDs). Obviously there have been changes in lifestyle since then which affect both the opportunities and the kind of film I end up seeing. Plus my tastes have changed and I don’t have to rush out to see every FX-filled blockbuster, or everything that gets rave reviews. I’m much more selective these days.

On the topic of seeing something because of the reviews, film critic Roger Ebert tells a story to illustrate how people choose what to go and see: friends of his are interested in seeing a particular film and ask his opinion. He replies “I think it’s one of the best films of the year”. They pause, then say “Oh, that doesn’t sound like the kind of thing we’d want to see”.

For the record, the ten films of 2010:

  1. Avatar
  2. The Princess and the Frog
  3. A Serious Man
  4. Green Zone
  5. Agora
  6. The Ghost Writer
  7. Iron Man 2
  8. Moon
  9. Toy Story 3
  10. Inception