Meme-me

I haven’t done a meme post for a while, but I saw this one over at cheeseweb and thought I’d give it a go, mostly because it’s a thinly-veiled excuse to link back to posts from my own archive.

  • Your first post Well, it was a fairly dull “Ooh, look! I’ve got a blog!” kind of thing. 
  • A post you enjoyed writing the most I enjoy writing the people-watching posts that go in the “human zoo” section. Also this one about Austrian food was fun.
  • A post which had a great discussion. I often get a series of isolated comments but it’s not often that it develops beyond that into a full-blown discussion, so it’s gratifying when that does happen. This one wasn’t bad. I like it when people challenge or disagree with what I’ve said, as it forces me to go back and think more clearly or deeply about the topic.  I’ve also been known to spar with commenters on other people’s blogs. This was a recent memorable (for me, anyway) exchange.
  • A post on someone else’s blog that you wish you’d written. Far too many to mention. I wish I’d written everything The Nonist ever wrote, for example.
  • Your most helpful post. Not for me to say, surely? I don’t think much of my stuff falls into the “helpful” category, but maybe people could use my restaurant reviews for advice on where to go for a fancy meal in Belgium?
  • A post with a title that you are proud of No idea. Most of my titles are either functional or bad puns, but some people said they liked Lighting candles.
  • A post that you wish more people had read. Well, most of them, to be honest, especially the old ones back when I didn’t have any readers. I’m often surprised by certain posts not getting any substantial reaction, like this one about old family photos, which I really love, for example. Then again, maybe it’s too personal and no-one has anything to say about photos of my relatives?
10 thoughts on “Meme-me

  1. Alison November 25, 2010 / 2:16 pm

    Glad you took up the challenge! Thanks for stopping by CheeseWeb. It allowed me to discover your blog. I look forward to going back through some of your older posts when I have a chance to catch up. I’ve also added you to my list of blog in Belgium on CW.

    Like

  2. Laura November 26, 2010 / 11:52 am

    Your most helpful post: you told me when last years Xmas markets were starting… Although technically, I think this was a comment on one of my posts. Maybe it could be a contender for ‘the most helpful thing I’ve ever said on the internet’?

    Like

    • simonlitton November 26, 2010 / 1:45 pm

      Happy to be of service. This year’s markets start today, by the way.

      Like

  3. Erik R. November 26, 2010 / 5:08 pm

    I hate blogging memes like this, but this is the first one that I might actually do, mainly because it’s so delightfully narcissistic, as you pointed out. And because you didn’t try to “tag” anyone like most people do. Damn your reasonableness!

    P.S. I’m proud to be a participant/troll in your “good discussions” posts.

    Like

    • simonlitton November 26, 2010 / 5:13 pm

      I don’t usually meme, but this one was too self-serving much fun to resist.

      Like

  4. jagosaurus November 27, 2010 / 12:56 am

    I heart your human zoo and food posts.

    And sigh. The Nonist is still in my reader in case he decides to resurrect the site.

    Like

    • simon November 27, 2010 / 9:03 am

      Thanks.
      And The Nonist comments section is where I first met you, don’t forget.

      Like

  5. Lydia November 28, 2010 / 9:19 pm

    Those old photos are fascinating. Sometimes when I am waiting in line at the supermarket, I watch the older couples in front of me, and try to imagine their lives when they were children.

    All our old family photos are very formal – you are lucky to get such an vivid glimpse into the past.

    Like

    • simonlitton November 29, 2010 / 9:10 am

      Thanks. I often do that too, trying to imagine how older people were when they were young, or even looking at children and imagining how they’ll look when they’re retired.

      Like

Your opinion is important to us

