Grimbergen giraffe

Some friends of ours who own a food shop and restaurant in Genoa arrived yesterday for a short visit to Brussels. We met them in the city centre and walked them around the main sights, stopping for a drink in Les Halles de St Géry. I perused the drinks menu and chose a “Grimbergen giraffe”. I usually like Grimbergen, but I’d never heard of this particular variety before so I thought I’d give it a try. While my wife went to the bar I minded the children. A few minutes later my wife called me over to the bar to check my order. It hadn’t occurred to me to check the quantity listed on the menu; a beer is a beer, right? But when I looked a second time it turned out that the drink in question was in fact three litres of beer. And it’s called a giraffe because…well, see if you can guess:

We quickly amended our order so that the others could help me consume my larger than average beverage. My daughter enjoyed playing with the tap and took great pleasure in repeatedly filling my glass. Almost as much pleasure as I took in draining it..