Toy Story

The Nostalgia Toy Museum in the town of Godshill on the Isle of Wight was quite a trip down memory lane for me. I already knew about their impressive selection of Star Wars memorabilia. Look, the Cantina Playset (lightsaber-severed limbs not included)!

Untitled

Look, both versions of Snaggletooth! (I used to have the red one, myself).

Untitled

Ah yes, Princess Leia. Heroine and role model for a whole generation of girls starved of any other female characters in the Star Wars films. Experienced diplomat, courageous Rebel leader…oh wow have you seen what you can do with her hair?!

Untitled

And then I noticed the non-Lucas items. I used to have one of these Superman dolls (“No, no, it’s an ACTION FIGURE!”). I remember accidentally breaking off one of his arms once (so much for his “invulnerability”) and being so pleased when my Dad fixed it that I left him a thank you note the next morning while he was having a lie-in.

Untitled

I also had a Hulk, although I don’t think he had this shirt. Note the description “Full of loveable ugliness”.

Untitled

I never had a Batmobile as far as I can remember. At least, not an Italian one.

Untitled

Much less a Chinese train which makes an exciting whistle.

Untitled

It could have been worse. I could have been stuck with having to dress up dolls in swinging ’60s clothes.

Untitled

And doesn’t “Paul” look happy? Look closer at the booklet, where his ensemble is described as “Motorway Man”. Sounds slightly sinister, if you ask me.

Untitled