Hermit

“You never leave the house?”

“No, not for years. At a certain point I made precise calculations: if I leave the house to seek the company of an intelligent person, an honest person, I am confronted with, on average, the risk of meeting twelve thieves and seven imbeciles who are there, ready to inflict on me their opinions on humanity, the government, the municipal administration, Moravia…do you think it’s worth the bother?”

“I guess not, no”

Leonardo Sciascia, A ciascuno il suo (my translation)

One thought on “Hermit

  1. Erik R. September 3, 2012 / 1:44 pm

    That’s a pretty good argument for staying off the internet, too.

    Like

Your opinion is important to us

