Tagged

J tagged me in a Q&A meme. It’d be rude not to reply, no?

Where do you do most of your writing/blogging?

At work. There, I said it.

What books were your childhood favorites?

Hmmm. I know I read a lot as a child, but have a hard time recalling specific books. I can name plenty of kids books I liked, but a lot of them I read as an adult. I do seem to remember liking Nicholas Fisk‘s novels. And Roald Dahl, obviously. James and the Giant Peach is probably my favourite, but it has to be the edition I had which was illustrated by Nancy Burkert. Nowadays all you can find is the Quentin Blake version, and I can’t stand Quentin Blake.

Who is your favorite fictional character?
Pretty much anyone from the Gormenghast books. Amazing gallery of memorable grotesques.

What is your favorite time of day and why?

First thing in the morning. Preferably on a clear day. Quiet and untouched and full of promise.

Have you ever Googled yourself and been surprised at what you’ve found?

Who hasn’t googled themselves? But there were no surprises. My blog, my imdb profile, a couple of work-related things.

Who would play me in a movie of my life?

Easy. Billy Zane.

One material possession I could not live without?

Can’t really think of anything. If anything I’ve been getting less materialistic as I get older, and less interested in hanging on to things. In the proverbial fire I’d probably save the hard drive back-up with all my photos on it.

Have you ever been naked in public?
Do beaches count? If so, yes.

What is your dream car?

I don’t really dream about cars, to be honest. For me they’re purely functional, not objects of desire.

What/who/where was your first proper kiss?

Define “proper”. Emma Davidson at age four, but that was a fairly chaste, lips closed kind of thing. So then it was probably a lady at university whose face I remember but whose name escapes me. Dead romantic, me.