Eating Portland

I didn’t have any particular culinary expectations regarding Portland, Oregon, but then a friend reminded me via facebook that there’s a big food cart scene there. A few minutes later I’d downloaded a free smartphone app and was on my way downtown to search for lunch. According to the site which produced the app, there are around 500 carts in the city, usually grouped into “pods”.

I headed for a spot on the corner of  SW5th and Stark, where there was a pod of around twenty carts offering a wide range of fare:

Untitled

Love the photo on this one:

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

I chose a Czech cart, which is one of the most well known and popular.

Untitled

If I’d known I could get a free postcard I’d have stopped shaving before I left Brussels.

Untitled

Here’s my “Schnitzelwich”, which is, as the name suggests, a Schnitzel in a bun, although a tangy red sauce underneath added flavour.

Untitled

If we’d had more time there I’d love to have tried some more. In fact given the number of carts you could stay in Portland for over a year and never need to step inside a restaurant or eat at the same cart twice.

The other food ‘must do’ in Portland, about which I was also ignorant before arriving, is Voodoo Doughnuts. Friends who live nearby insisted that we go there.

Untitled

We passed it several times during our stay and there was always an enormous queue.

Untitled

All the bricks are glittery, for some reason.

Untitled

Here’s the full menu.

Untitled

And there’s a range of suggestive merchandising. I bought a t-shirt.

Untitled

Here’s our haul. Chocolate covered figures for the kids, a Portland special for me (filled with cream and covered in chocolate), and the two at bottom left are for our friends who are American and who therefore insist on having bacon with everything.

Untitled

Beautifully soft, sweet doughnuts, and very reasonably priced too.