Moss Rules

It started some years ago with a sarcastic comment on a friend‘s photo of some moss. “Moss Rules!”, I said. She laughed. It became a running joke, used whenever anyone we knew posted a photo of the same subject matter.

It got to the stage (as it often does with flickr) that I went out specifically looking for moss to take photos of. Soon a flickr group of the same name had been set up, and at the time of writing it has 178 members and 820 photos. My own contributions come from places as varied as Belgium, Exeter, Vienna, PiedmontJapan and California.

But last month I hit the motherlode. We visited the Hall of Mosses in the Hoh rainforest on the Olympic Peninsula in Washington State, where every tree is literally dripping with moss. It coats the floor like a soft green carpet, it hangs in curtains from the branches, it bubbles up tree trunks. It’s a magical place, and although I’m happy with some of my photos they don’t really capture the full verdant softness of it all.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled