Zipline

We just spent a week in the Dolomites. I tried skiing but couldn’t get on with it. Even when I managed not to fall over I couldn’t see what was so exciting about it, so I stopped. But then, while browsing a brochure of the other activities available in the area, we came across a brief mention of Adrenaline Adventures, which boasts the longest zipline in Europe. I’ve never ziplined before, and am not especially keen on heights (although I don’t have full-blown vertigo), but in the absence of any other thrilling physical activities we thought we’d give it a try.

Actually I’m ok with heights as long as I’m in motion. But if I’m stood still on something high up, then I’m the one who starts wobbling and can’t look down. Anyway, I was a little nervous beforehand but once we got up onto the first platform I attained a state of zen-like calm. Two things helped. Firstly, the course is split into ten separate lines of various length, so while the full run takes almost an hour to complete there are opportunities to stop and, in theory, get off, fairly regularly. Secondly, you don’t have to step off into nothingness, or jump, or make any effort really. You just sit your weight down into the harness, lift up your feet, and let gravity do the rest. Look, like this:

It helped that we were doing this in a very pretty part of the world, and the view was spectacular. I’d considered filming one of the descents but in the end wanted to use my hands to hold on to the t-bar (which stops you from spinning around) and didn’t like the idea of dropping my phone into the snow 100 metres below.

There are a ton of videos on their site to give you a better idea of what it’s like to ride it. For example, this point of view sequence:

One thing’s for sure: wherever I go on holiday from now on I’ll keep my eyes peeled for ziplines.