Italian oddities

I’ve visited Genova often enough that I’ve photographed most of the tourist sights and photogenic views several times over, in several formats, from all possible angles. So these days when I go there I end up taking pictures of little bits of silliness that catch my eye, then cobble them together into a brief blog post. I’ve done it before, and now I’m going to do it again. Here they are in no particular order.

I bought some artisanal beer from a market outside a monastery. I only got a few small bottles, but the large ones were very prettily decorated. The handle is handy too.

Untitled

Dessert at Gloglo café: “deconstructed tiramisu”. Which I think is a bit of a misrepresentation, as it had never been “constructed” in the first place.

There’s a new tourist tat shop next to the cathedral, and one of their products is a tin of (basil-scented) Genovese air. Or hair, if you believe the English translation.

I’ve been to this clothing store many times before in trailing-spouse mode, but it was only when I saw this group of German tourists come in and take photos that I really noticed the fact that it had been converted from a 17th century palazzo, parts of which have remained in place.

In the kids’ section of a bookshop, one in a series of books featuring a crime-fighting nun who tracks down kidnapped children. Nuns are cool!

In Palazzo Ducale I went to see two connected exhibitions. One was of “dustbowl” photos from America during the depression in the 1930s. As well as the famous shot by Dorothea Lange there were several others obviously taken moments before and afterwards, which was interesting to see.

In the next room was a show of 1970s photos of Italian peasants.

While looking at these with the 8yo a guy came up to me with a stupefied expression on his face and commented to us “What’s wrong with these people? They’re dirt poor but they all have loads of kids!”

Murals under the overpass in the port area.

An ad in the newspaper. In the UK I see plenty of ads for stair-lifts for the mobility-challenged, but only in Italy do they have special lifts to take you down to the beach.

A type of Easter cake I hadn’t seen before. Seems a bit silly that you have to peel the shells off the eggs after it’s been baked into a cake.

A restaurant we visited had lots of bookish photos on the walls. This one was next to our table. The caption reads “Literature is the admission that life is not enough”.

Feltrinelli bookshop, looking down to the ground floor.

These trompe l’oeil decorations are everywhere on buildings in Liguria, but this is the first time I’ve seen them being painted on.

And finally, a Porta Soprana selfie.

Untitled