Say “ah”

I had my annual medical examination today. I get a different doctor every time, from among the dozen or so who work for my employer’s medical service, and this time he was a pleasant, softly-spoken man. Nice bedside manner. Didn’t do anything unpleasant other than hold my tongue down with that little wooden stick which I always hate because it makes me gag. On Friday I do blood and urine tests (as I do every year) and this time I’m also doing a chest x-ray, as I had some bronchitis last year.

He seemed to think there was nothing whatsoever wrong with me, based on a cursory examination and conversation, apart from a certain amount of Michelin-starred flab around the middle.

My only question for him was about ergonomics (he referred me to a separate Ergonomics Unit within the medical service). I use graphics programmes fairly regularly and this involves a fair amount of mouse work, which in turn can sometimes lead to tension and soreness up my whole right arm and even into my neck and back. A colleague had a similar problem and managed to get hold of a vertical mouse (like this one) which apparently helps enormously, once you get the feel of it, so I’m hoping to get one too. I’ll keep you posted.

Otherwise, nothing to report. I’m unlikely to keel over and die any time soon. Although that’s not to say I won’t get hit by a bus. Especially considering what Brussels bus drivers are like…