Chauffeur, chaperone

These days I spend a lot of time ferrying my kids back and forth between various activities in the evenings and at weekends. I mind that less than I expected to. For one thing it’s another, brief opportunity to get one of the kids on their own for a chat away from homework, play and tv.

For another it’s often amusing or gratifying to see them engaging in these activities: learning, making new friends, etc.

Or sometimes it just allows me a little ‘me’ time. At the moment I’m spending quite a few evenings sat in the bar of a local cultural centre (yes, drinking alone) reading while I wait for my daughter to finish with tap dancing and singing.

This willingness to drive them around may change in years to come when they’re teens and just need me to pick them up from parties at some ungodly hour of the morning.