Thin ice

A change to the lunchtime routine today. A social event in the lobby provided a free lunch, so my half an hour break was available to be used for something other than eating. Usually that would mean reading, but I wanted some fresh air and exercise and it was a bright, sunny day, so I wandered outside and found a park I’d never visited before, only a few hundred metres from the office.
Untitled

Untitled

Don’t walk on the grass ice.

Untitled

Rebellious ducks.

Untitled

Frozen feather. The black blob stuck to the twig is a snail. I like how the ice creases and folds around the shell. Still, poor snaily.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

An awful lot of leaves in this pond.

Untitled

I was fascinated by the way tiny bubbles under the surface of the ice outline the objects below them; rocks and branches.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Maybe I should get out more often.

6 thoughts on “Thin ice

    • simonlitton February 12, 2015 / 2:08 pm

      I briefly considered adding some cod-philosophical musings on the metaphorical significance of ice and what lies beneath, but wisely desisted.

      Like

      • Erik R. February 12, 2015 / 2:09 pm

        We could just as easily be bubbles on an icy surface as shadows on a cave wall.

        Like

    • simonlitton February 12, 2015 / 2:13 pm

      I am a leaf trapped under the ice of my oppression. This blog is my line of tiny bubbles outlining my existence beneath the frozen surface.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Erik R. February 12, 2015 / 2:14 pm

        So shallow, and yet so deep.

        Like

      • simonlitton February 12, 2015 / 2:17 pm

        And you are the duck skating across my surface, dropping feathers in your path.

        Like

Your opinion is important to us

