Villa in the Sky

Whenever we told people we were going to eat at Villa in the Sky they would invariably reply “Oh, that one where you dangle from a crane?”. No, this one is in a proper building, although it matches Dinner in the Sky for sheer vertiginousness.

Much like The Cube, this is basically a large glass shed attached to the top of a pre-existing structure (in this case the IT Tower, one of the tallest skyscrapers in Brussels), which contains a pretty small kitchen looking directly onto a dining area which can seat about 30 people. We had been given the table at the far end of the room, looking right over the edge of the building to the streets below.

Untitled

Untitled

The view from our table, across the centre of Brussels:

Untitled

I hadn’t expected the room to be this small, or for us to be this close to the edge, and at first I found it a little dizzying and uncomfortable. As you can see the structure is firmly bolted to a set of girders attached to the main building, so we weren’t in danger of wobbling off, but logic doesn’t mitigate irrational fears.

Untitled

Untitled

I sat very still and looked at the horizon. It was perfect weather for enjoying the view, and it was interesting to see many recognisable Brussels landmarks from different angles, and also to notice some things from above which aren’t visible from street level. This is probably the best restaurant view in the city.

Untitled

An aperitif helped calm my nerves.

Untitled

One other thing we hadn’t realised beforehand was that there was no choice when it came to the food. That probably makes sense given the tiny kitchen, so we were happy to accept the proposed tasting menu, and chose a selection of wines to accompany it. I can no longer be bothered to take detailed notes on what exactly I eat, so the descriptions will be basic and you’ll just have to drool over the photos instead. First amuse-bouche: crab.

Untitled

Foie gras cubes, about the size of a thumbnail.

Untitled

Blurred photo of raw langoustine marinating in a broth, with a lemon smear on the side.

Untitled

Quail egg covered in crunchy stuff and topped with a slice of truffle.

Untitled

Bream.

Untitled

As the horizon rose to meet the sun they lifted the blinds on the side of the room to let more light in.

Untitled

Untitled

This had the effect of increasing my anxiety a little as the view was now clear on all three sides of me, even in my peripheral vision. But I kept my focus on the plates in front of me and continued drinking to dull the sensation of tumbling forward into the abyss.

A couple of dishes were served by a very young man wearing a large badge which identified him as “Arnaud, the intern”. He was keen to practice his English and described the next dish for us (artichoke, rocket and potato). I would have called the white stuff a “foam”, but he referred to it as a “cloud”. I’m still not sure if he made a mistake, or if it was deliberate, to fit in with the whole ‘in the sky’ theme. Anyway, it was nice, and lacked the bitter edge which often puts me off artichoke.

Untitled

Fish, fennel and fregola, which is a type of small, Sardinian pasta. Nice, but the piece of fish was tiny: about the size of my thumb.

Untitled

Chicken. Quite salty, although I like that.

Untitled

At this point we had a small pause before the meat course so we went outside onto the terrace for a better look at the view. Well, I say ‘outside’. I stood by the doorway and took a couple of quick photos before staggering back to our table.

Untitled

Other diners did what people these days do when there’s a view.

Untitled

Once we’d sat back down a police helicopter flew past exactly level with us, and scarily close. Seriously, only about 10-15 metres from the window. I bet they did it on purpose to freak us out. Bastards.

Next came the beef. First time I’ve had cheese and gravy together on the same plate. Again, quite salty. Again, I didn’t mind, although some might.

Untitled

Cucumber, cream and rum palate cleanser.

Untitled

Strawberry dessert. The edible checkered tablecloth was a nice touch.

Untitled

And then a selection of smaller sweets with the coffee. Chocolatey caramel stuff.

Untitled

Watermelon, meringue and yuzu.

Untitled

Red fruit coulis and a spot of wasabi.

Untitled

A very nice meal, deserving of its two Michelin stars, and even though most of the courses were petite we didn’t leave feeling hungry. And if you can fight off the vertigo the view is amazing. I’d definitely go back.